Livestream on September 25th from 10:00 a.m.: Opening of the fifth session of the International Conference on Chemicals Management
Participate online

International policies

Fahnen der G20 Mitgliedsstaaten

Bilateral cooperation

Germany has entered into bilateral agreements with eight neighbouring countries (Belgium, Denmark, France, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Switzerland and the Czech Republic) on the exchange of information regarding nuclear installations located in border regions. Regular and extensive contacts are cultivated between Germany and Belgium, France, the Netherlands, Austria, Switzerland and the Czech Republic. Joint commissions and nuclear expert groups have been set up with these countries. Annual consultations are held to discuss issues of nuclear safety, emergency preparedness, radiation protection and the management of radioactive waste. Additional working groups on nuclear safety and radiation protection have been set up in the context of cooperation with France, the Netherlands and Switzerland. In these working groups, information on nuclear installations close to borders is exchanged with a particular focus on the following subjects:

  • changes relevant for permits or technical changes to nuclear installations near borders
  • operating experience, especially concerning reportable events
  • regulatory development of safety requirements, especially regarding emergency preparedness measures in case of major incidents
  • general developments in the field of nuclear safety and radiation protection

In addition to the cooperation with neighbouring countries, more than 50 agreements exist with other states. However, the establishment of a commission is not necessarily required. Bilateral memoranda of understanding on the exchange of information were, for example, arranged with Japan and Korea, and an agreement on the exchange of information exists with China.

Transboundary EIA/SEA

Special instruments for international cooperation on environmental precautions are the transboundary strategic environmental assessment (SEA) and the transboundary environmental impact assessment (EIA). The EIA was established under the Espoo Convention, the SEA is rooted in the UNECE Protocol on Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA Protocol) which was adopted later. These two international treaties have been transposed into German national law by the Environmental Impact Assessment Act (UVPG).

If a project may have a considerable environmental impact on other countries, the competent authority of the "state of origin" sends an early notification to its counterparts in the other countries. If the competent authorities there are not known, the notification is sent to the Espoo contacts of the countries in question in order to inform them about the implementation of a transboundary participation in EIA processes. In Germany, pursuant to the UVPG, the authority competent for transboundary EIA or SEA corresponds to the authority competent for a similar procedure at national level (for example in the case of authorising a nuclear power plant this would be the responsible Land authorities).

In order to provide extensive information, the Federal Environment Ministry (BMUV) offers an overview of transboundary environmental impact assessment and strategic environmental assessment processes (EIA and SUP processes) for nuclear installations with German public participation on its website. For more information on the processes and details on the public participation, click on the linked pages of the competent authorities.

G7-Nuclear Safety and Security Group (G7-NSSG)

In 1975, the then most advanced industrialised countries created the Group of 7 (G7), to discuss issues of the global economy. The G7 comprises Germany, France, the UK, Italy, Japan, Canada and the US. The Nuclear Safety and Security Group (NSSG) is a permanent informal body of the G7 dealing with questions of nuclear safety and radiation protection. The NSSG developed from the Nuclear Safety Working Group, established in 1992, which mainly dealt with the safety of Eastern European nuclear reactors of Russian design. In addition to the G7 countries, the European Commission, the OECD/NEA, the IAEA and the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development have an observer status in the NSSG. Due to the Russian annexation of Crimea in 2014, Russia's previous participation in the G8 has been suspended.

International Nuclear Regulators Association (INRA)

The International Nuclear Regulators Association (INRA) was established in 1997. The INRA comprises of the supreme regulatory authorities of countries with the most advanced nuclear technologies (Germany, France, Japan, Canada, Spain, Sweden, the US, the UK and South Korea). The chair rotates every year. INRA addresses issues of mutual interest and makes recommendations with a view to further strengthening nuclear regulatory authorities worldwide.


The Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) is based in Paris and is a semi-autonomous organisation within the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). The Federal Republic of Germany is a founding member of the OECD and joined the NEA in 1958.

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) was founded in 1957 as an autonomous intergovernmental organisation. It reports regularly to the United Nations General Assembly and is obligated to directly contact the United Nations Security Council if a threat to international safety is ascertained. Germany has been a member of the organisation since its founding year in 1957.

International conventions

The international community has established a range of multilateral conventions in the fields of nuclear safety and nuclear security with a view to strengthening international cooperation and setting international minimum standards. These conventions regulate areas such as the protection of international transports of nuclear material, liability, early notification and mutual assistance in the event of nuclear accidents, nuclear safety requirements and safety requirements for the treatment of spent fuel elements and radioactive waste.

IRRS mission to Germany

As part of its International Regulatory Review Service (IRRS) the IAEA offers to conduct reviews of national regulatory authorities. The IRRS should be regarded as an instrument of reciprocal learning for national regulatory bodies throughout the world, with the aim of strengthening nuclear regulatory infrastructure as a whole and thereby enhancing nuclear safety. In the EU, such reviews must be carried out every ten years (Directive 2009/71 Euratom as amended by Directive 2014/87/Euratom). The latest review of the BMUV took place in 2019.

ARTEMIS mission to Germany in 2019

From 22 September 2019 to 4 October 2019, the first Integrated Review Service for Radioactive Waste and Spent Fuel Management, Decommissioning and Remediation (ARTEMIS) took place in Germany at the request of the German government, in particular the BMUV. The aim of the mission was an independent international review of the national programme for the responsible and safe management of spent fuel and radioactive waste. Germany has thus fulfilled its obligation ensuing from Article 14 (3) of the Directive 2011/70/Euratom.

Last updated: 30.11.2022

Policy-making in dialogue

Good environmental and consumer protection policies are achieved when they are a joint endeavour. Get in touch with us, or get involved through one of our options for dialogue.