G7 and G20

Germany’s G20 Presidency

Germany took over the presidency of the G20 on 1 December 2016. Environmental issues will play an important role alongside economic, foreign policy and security issues. Germany’s presidency of the G20 will strive to improve the sustainability of national economies and to contribute to achieving the targets of the 2030 Agenda and the Paris Agreement. Germany is aiming to secure greater interlinking of energy and climate policies.


The G7 Group

Ansicht der Erde mit aufgehender Sonne

The Group of Seven (G7) are not international organisations, but rather informal forums in which heads of state and government can discuss global economic and foreign policy issues in a small group. The G7 comprises Germany, France, the UK, Italy, Japan, the USA and Canada. In addition, the EU is represented at all summits. Between 1998 and 2014, the Group of Eight (G8) comprised all countries of the G7 and Russia.


Policy-making in dialogue

Good environmental and consumer protection policies are achieved when they are a joint endeavour. Get in touch with us, or get involved through one of our options for dialogue.